ADDRESS TO THE BODY OF CHRIST

ADDRESS TO THE BODY OF CHRIST

“LET EVERY PERSON BE IN SUBJECTION TO THE GOVERNING AUTHORITY, FOR THERE IS NO AUTHORITY EXCEPT FROM GOD.” … Romans 12:1

“AND IT IS HE WHO CHANGES THE TIMES AND THE SEASONS, HE CONTROLS THE
COURSE OF EVENTS, HE REMOVES KINGS AND ESTABLISHES KINGS.” … Daniel 2:21


by Linda Bunting

Allow me to ask few questions to fellow believers, those of us who are called to walk by faith and not by sight, yet now becoming tempted to lose focus making the political issues of the day bigger than God. Are we to look into the earth’s battles and take sides when all sides are in God? God is like a prism and each facet of humanity observes Him from their own vantage point.
Presently there are many sides of the government in our land vying in conflict for power.
Issues and ‘MY RIGHTS’ are on every tongue … LEFT AND RIGHT! Fear seems to have taken hold of the possibility that if our rights have been taken away we will become prisoners of someone else’s right. The endless debates bring no solution because they are taken from the TREE OF THE KNOWLEDGE OF GOOD AND EVIL. Remember that tree, of which Adam and Eve were forbidden to eat? Both sides were evil.
If truth be known, we who are Christians are already prisoners – prisoners of the Living God. Our home is not in this dimension – not the earthly place we inhabit. Our identity is not the money we possess in bank accounts, nor our physical health or intellect. All these things are temporal and passing. Our true identity is Christ. We are temples of the Living God.

So why do we fret about the temporal things? Are we so possessed by our earthly treasures that our hearts have turned from “Laying up our treasures in heaven, for where
Our treasure is, there will our hearts be also”. Where are our hearts?

Are we now trying to find our security in governments – mere men, who at best work from greed themselves?

Jesus did not come to earth to build earthly kingdoms. Jesus came to set up another kingdom – the kingdom of self-giving love in the creation that was lost. Jesus did not save us to make us safe. He saved us to make us co-saviours … Co – Saviours with Him.
When asked to be shown the kingdom, His answer was “Lo, it is within you.” Have our eyes become so dim that we have lost sight of our true purpose and calling while on earth?

Thank God we know that all issues have some measure of truth in them and by faith we can know that only the Holy Spirit knows what He will be bringing out as ONE solution for ALL.

None of us know what tomorrow will bring.

“But God who said, Light shall shine out of darkness is the One who has shone in our hearts to give the light of knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ. We have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the surpassing greatness of the power may be of God and not from ourselves; we are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not despairing; persecuted but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed … as having nothing, yet possessing all things.”

For we who live are constantly being delivered over to death for Jesus sake, that the life of Jesus may be manifested in our mortal flesh. SO death works in us, but life in you.

For the momentary light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison while we look not at the THINGS THAT ARE SEEN, but at the things which are not seen; for the things that are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal.

So let us return our eyes from the evils of the day to the LIVING GOD behind it all; trusting His promises to cause ALL things to work together to the GOOD for we who are called according to His purpose. God’s job is governments. Our job is to trust and keep our eyes where they belong …. ON HIM. All things come “Not by power, nor by might, but by My Spirit sayeth the Lord.

Let us ‘see through’ to God and say with Joseph; “You meant it for evil, but God MEANT it for good,” and stand with Abraham who called into being that which did not exist.

God is still on His Throne and we belong there with Him, seeing as He sees, loving as he loves. That is our victory and the shout of a KING is among us!

http://www.christasus.com

 

8 thoughts on “ADDRESS TO THE BODY OF CHRIST

  1. I am a novice at “seeing with a single eye.” While attempting to see only single, I am distracted from time to time with sights from the corner of my eye. These sights are not dominate but do appear. My brain wrestles with trying to make rational sense out of the appearance of chaos. I have begun to grow comfortable with I believe, I believe, and I am, I am, but struggle with always “seeing through.” It may not be as much trouble with “seeing through,” as it is with what to say or do with natural circumstances that appear more or less comfortable to live with. I do place “value” on some decisions made by government or individuals. I catch myself struggling, or at least being influenced by “appearances” that, to me, appear closer to the Truth (Spirit) than decisions that appear further from the Truth. My rest is inChrist, my future is in Christ, my contentment is in Christ, yet I have a slew of “preferences.” Humor, and the Lord sitting in the heavens “laughing” gives me much consolation. I agree with all you have written, I just am not clear as to how it looks “walked out” in daily experience. What does living in the world, and not being of the world look like when “walked out?” In most of Norman’s writings, or Fred’s, or Linda’s the posture is clear but specific responses to this shakable world remains either mystery or trial and error. Living under a democracy (while it may be eroding) it does allow for participation from the people, if I am to participate, I must, it appears, take a position that favors one outcome over another. Or, is this just a distraction from the corner of my eye?
    Thanks for His word in you!

  2. Your term “co saviour” doesn’t set well with me. Its a bit too “mormon” for my taste. It’s the Gospel that is the power of God unto salvation, I am no saviour; its Christ in me, the hope of glory. I’m a co heir, I’m a servant, I’m fellow laborer; but apart from Christ I can do nothing.

    σωτήρ
    sōtēr
    so-tare’
    From G4982; a deliverer, that is, God or Christ: – saviour.

    I understand what you’re trying to say but it seems to place emphasis on me when I must decrease so that He would increase. I want people to see Christ in me and be drawn to The Living God with dependency upon Him. I am not their “saviour” but I have “been with Him.”

    • Hi Kris, thank you for pointing out what doesn’t set well with you. I wonder if your only reaction to Linda Bunting’s “ADDRESS TO THE BODY OF CHRIST” was this point about our using a term you don’t like or believe is incorrect, or did you catch the much greater message Linda was emphasizing?

Thank you for your comment.