Update and Personal Note 2012-3

Update and Personal Note 2012-3

by Fred Pruitt

Well, autumn is hovering close by, and we miss being in Louisville at this time of year. Often the first crisp fall morning we would experience would be the weekend of the Homecoming. 

But – as George Harrison wrote – all things must pass. Our years on the hill in Louisville have shaped almost everything about our lives. As I’ve mentioned before, Janis and I had no premonition that we would walk up the Wearren’s driveway, not knowing a soul there, except Norman who had invited us. One never knows when a “chance” meeting will end up in a long term friendship? But it did happen with us. It was love at first sight with a BUNCH of people. I was 30 and Janis was 28. Our kids were 4, 6 and 8. That first three day weekend just blew Janis and I away.

It was not mainly the speakers that grabbed us. They were speaking a lingo we weren’t used to – “don’t be a see-atter, be a see-througher,” “God only,” “pot stage,” “we’re all lambs,” “Christ in my form.” The list goes on.

And there was Norman, who was not short-winded. He’d easily go a couple of hours if he could keep the audience with him. But I didn’t care how long he talked. I was transfixed. I had heard him before, when I didn’t understand at all. But, in the interim I had come to understand, which made every word that was gushing out of him like a machine gun bathed with beatific gentle light. “Never a man who spake like this man.”

It was like this: “And it came to pass, when Jesus had ended these sayings, the people were astonished at his doctrine: For he taught them as one having authority, and not as the scribes.” (Matt 7: 28). You didn’t “sit under” Norman. You weren’t “at his feet.” He would’ve hated someone saying that about him. You bathed in him, because he was bathed with Christ. He was like a jolly old English grandpa sometimes. But when the fire stirred, he came out swinging! He was a fierce Lion like Aslan, who was also gentle and uncondemning. I had never met someone so totally ON-FIRE for Jesus, and yet gentle as a Lamb.

And maybe the greatest thing of all, was that he had the same “flawed human being look” (outer appearance), that we all did, but Christ transfigured through his “flawed human being look,” as a mighty gushing river of love, grace and truth. I’ve said this many times, but I think it good to say it again. It wasn’t really “the message” that drew me, and bonded me with him. It was him, the person of Norman! And it was love. Just plain love. It was a heart bond instantly after I knew him. No compulsion. No intimidation or warning or expression of fear. No attempt to “disciple” me. Great joy, and sometimes great seriousness.

I’ll say this, too. It was not about “following a man,” not at all. Perhaps some saw it that way, but if they had known him they would have seen that he wouldn’t have put up with being idolized. He’d nip that in the bud in a new york minute. But what grabbed me, was the thought that “a regular human being like myself, still with a wart or two or three or ten still hanging on, could manifest Christ. But here is the living proof, right here in front of me. I think it’s the “pearl of great price.” What I’d been looking for, here it is showing up in Norman! If it’s possible for him, maybe it’s possible for me.”

It was at that meeting I first heard him say, paraphrased, “In my young days I saw an evangelist who preached on John 7:38, ‘He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water.’” Norman said the man said that verse was true about us, that when WE believe this is what happens – rivers of living water flow out of us into the world. Then Norman finished with, “I said to m’self that night that maybe right now I couldn’t believe for a mighty river, but I told the Lord I’d believe first for a muddy trickle.”

What a trickle it was!

And then there were all the other folks, many of whom we still see today. These “other folks,” now, don’t get the impression they were second tier to Norman. He was one of the folk. So it was more than coming to hear great speakers, including Norman, it was meeting and getting to know the people, that brought us back year by year. We had never been so guilelessly or quickly accepted “in the fold,” which of course was nothing organizational, just the networks of loving people in Christ staying in touch with each other out of love and a common seeing of Christ in us. Their main form of demonstrative love back then, (1981), was to completely embrace us and make us feel like we were the new cousins they’d never met. We were hooked, but they weren’t throwing any bait out. The Holy Spirit had dropped those bread crumbs.

That was the beginning that put me on the road to “here.” And a lot of the people in this photo, taken in the Buntings back yard at the 1982 “Iron Sharpening,” are still and have been our friends all these years. There we were then, “the youngsters,” the new generation coming up. And now, here behind us is ANOTHER new generation, and on and on as the Lord pleases.

I have an idea. If anyone who ever attended has a mind to do this, I would love to receive stories about your experiences there, if anything was meaningful to you. Perhaps I could compile a book out of them! This idea occurs to me just now as I’m writing. We’ll see!

Well, movin’ on ….

On the Road again – once again it seems …

Two Trips

1. Kansas City. Tomorrow (Friday), I’ll fly from Atlanta to Kansas City, to take part in a gathering being held in Overland Park KS, a suburb of KC. We don’t have large numbers, but this invitation is extended to anyone who would like to get together with us this weekend in Kansas City, please get in touch with Tony Maden for details. His email is themadens@gmail.com.

It will be just for the weekend. I’ll be home Sunday night.

2. November Trip. And then John and I are in the planning stages for a jaunt through possibly the mid-atlantic and northeast states. When we are firm on where we are going, we’ll be sure to let everyone know. It will be in the first two weeks of November.

Miscellaneous

Thanks for all your love, prayers, support, and for being Christ to me.

Fred Pruitt

https://thesingleeye.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Update and Personal Note 2012-3

  1. Really great, Fred – I’m so thankful I was privileged to be at the last 3 Louisville gatherings; from hearing Dan speak of them, I so wish I could have met Dan Stone, and Norman. Will miss being with youall this weekend . . . hope we can see you sometime soon!

Thank you for your comment.