Union of Two Equals One

Union of Two = One

By Fred Pruitt 

Where do we place “fellowship” with God, in the light of our being one with Him?

Now, when I say “fellowship,” I mean a present tense faith-sense of God at all times and in all circumstances. That is descriptive of how it is with me now and has been for some time. But in the beginning it was not like that. I had to “FEEL” something!

In those beginning days I basically had two modes of daily living. In one mode, the most desired mode, I “felt” the Holy Spirit with me and rejoiced in worship, either inwardly or outwardly. But usually something had to cause that to occur, stimulated most often either by group or individual prayer, because the other mode, the more common mode of my life, consisted of condemnation and self-incrimination within. I blamed mode two entirely on my lack of total success in mode one. It was one of those “vicious circles!”

This line I am speaking of came about by considering whether God is proactive toward us, or reactive. Can our minds (of the Spirit) not grasp the reality that nothing God does is “reactive” while at the same time He being fully present in the current moment?

The truth is God is not reactive to us, even if He seems like He is. He has stimulated everything there is, once He set the universe into living motion. Everything in God has been settled before we ever came into existence. We’re the ones who are new on the scene and don’t know much about what is going on.

So it follows that God’s “behavior” toward us isn’t determined in the temporal, but only in the Eternal. If it seems like He is reacting to us by causing this or that happening, we can still be certain His “actions” always come out of the Eternal, even though they are seen and/or felt and/or heard, as if they are coming out of the present temporal moment.

God is fully capable of being fully in both realities at the same time. He knows when a sparrow falls, and is that close and “personal” with us, each of us individually and all of us collectively, with the circumstances of our spiritual lives. He is so close our thoughts (His and ours) collide. He is more intimate with me than I have ever been with my wife. He is that personal. And yet, at the same time, He is the transcendent God of the universe, spinning out galaxies and star systems by the Word of His Power – the Son!

Sometimes when people mention fellowship exhortations are given for us to double-up on our efforts to have a “better relationship” with God. But I think we’re going down the wrong trail if we are still trying to establish “relationship.” It may make an easier transition for the uninitiated, or it may prevent “offense” to speak of relationship, but ultimately relationship is pretty much thrown out the window. Relationship is baby stuff, and we all start there, and most resist “leaving” there and going on to deeper things, because “relationship” produces a sense of security. So we think if anything challenges relationship it must be false.

Look at 1 John’s little children, young men and fathers again. John says the little children know their sins are forgiven. It is the initial “entering in.” Because we have come out of separation, but do not yet know it at that point, God appears to us as if He is apart and separate from us, and that (before we enter in) our “sins” have produced a blockage between us. That is the usual bit of information we almost all know from the beginning, that our sins are forgiven and we are restored to a right “relationship” with the Lord through the Blood of Jesus and the Cross.

But of the fathers he says, “I write unto you, fathers, because ye have known him that is from the beginning.” The second time he speaks of the little children, John says, “I write unto you, little children, because ye have known the Father.” (1 John 2:12-14).

What is the difference? It is this. They (the little children) know the Father in separation, that their sins are forgiven. They know the comforting of the Lord, His loving-kindness, etc., but still God is “up there,” while we stay “down here,” and continually “seek the Lord,” earnestly desiring His favor and blessings and to be instantly delivered from all our sufferings. For most of us, it is the “help me, fix me, heal me, uphold me, bless me, teach me” phase, where our focus is really more on ourselves and our “progress” than on the Lord and what He is doing.

The Lord loves us and bears with us as we spend a lot of that time trying to help God understand us and what we need from Him. We want Him onboard with our plans, dreams, ambitions, etc., whatever we desire. Temptation scares us, because we are afraid we’ll succumb, which in that time we often do. When that happens in those early days we think something is wrong with us or that we don’t have a “heart for God.”

So that is the inner context of the “little children.”

I’m skipping young men on purpose, because I want to get to the fathers. It is interesting to me that John does not say they “know the Father,” as he does for the little children. Twice John says the exact same thing of the fathers: “I have written unto you, fathers, because ye have known him that is from the beginning.” He is bringing out a distinction between the little children “knowing the Father,” and the fathers “knowing Him that is from the beginning.” The fathers have moved almost completely off relationship, because they have moved into the universal God, God All in all. They no longer see themselves as the disciples quaking with fear in the tempest-tossed sea, but as the living embodiment in our mortal flesh of the One Who commanded the winds and the seas, and they obeyed Him!

The little children sought blessings and provision for themselves. Fathers speak it into existence for others. There is no “gap” between them and the Lord. They are simply themselves and they are one with the Father, Son and Spirit, which means when we see them we see the Father, Son and Spirit. They are Himself manifest in our selves.

We are spontaneously Him. If we are stepping back and trying to remember the right confessions to make, it’s like getting back under the law and temporarily “falling” from grace. Why, to punish us? No, not hardly! To teach us – YES! To bring us through all the way to oneness in consciousness and being, with Him, which takes us right back out of the Throne Room back into the world, where we seek those who still wander, that we might impart the same Life to them, that others imparted to us!

Our life in Christ is meant to run in spontaneous beauty, but it cannot get to that state as long as we still walk in separated consciousness. Just think of our normal body functions. When I want to pick up my fork and have a bite of food from my plate, I have no consciousness of “sending a command or request” to my arm, hands and fingers. My conscious brain is bypassed as my members just do what they are supposed to do. If I want to run (very rarely these days), I just start doing it. Again, no process of sending a request to my legs that they’ll cooperate and start running. When the starter pistol goes off, there I go, too! How did I manage to get my legs, arms, lungs, heart to cooperate with all that? I have no idea. I just start running, no thought involved.

I love the picture we are left with in the 22nd chapter of Revelation. “And I saw no temple therein:  for the Lord God Almighty and the Lamb are the temple of it. And the city had no need of the sun, neither of the moon, to shine in it:  for the glory of God did lighten it, and the Lamb is the light thereof.” (Rev 22:22,23).

That’s describing oneness, when it says there is no temple, nor do they need the sun or the moon for light, because God lightened it, and the Lamb IS its light. Light without a light producing source? How could that be? We don’t know “how,” but we do know we have moved into this universal oneness – I am not proclaiming pantheism (all is God) here. I use the term to mean we have truly inwardly entered the eternal oneness, in which all things are and out of which all things come. It is the existence of complete divine provision on a spontaneous basis. Whatever is called for in any moment of time or the eternal, “I AM THAT I AM” provides. Anything from a serpent telling lies, to a bloody dying man on a Cross, to brothers meaning evil toward their younger brother selling him to slave traders, to a woman who must seduce her deceased husband’s father in order to have the child promised her, to the offspring of that woman founding the everlasting Kingdom of David, to a Roman governor who claims to have the power of life and death over Jesus – finally to an empty tomb!

Jesus left us precisely so we could find out we are He, which we could not do as long as He was physically with us. Moses taught them “relationship.” Jesus brought them the Father that they might become Christ in their human forms.

Then we can understand Paul when he boasts, I laboured more abundantly than they all,” which to us almost seems like shameful bragging, until we read the next line: “yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.” (1 Cor 15:10).

That’s the way it always was with Paul after his conversion, and by the same faith and Holy Spirit we speak the same word as Paul. “Let there be ….”

One thought on “Union of Two Equals One

Thank you for your comment.

