Create In Me A Clean Heart

Create In Me A Clean Heart

(Edited and expanded from an article from January 24, 2012.)

by Fred Pruitt

 

(I had the following exchange with a brother new to me, and with his permission I am sharing part of the exchange. I have removed personal details and have paraphrased his to me.)

Subject: Re: I want to believe help thou my unbelief.

Dear Fred,

Thank you for what you are doing. I read about y’all taking a trip and wanted to ask if you might have time to stop and talk to me. I am a 63 year old man that wants to live in the fullness of the Lord in my mind but it seems there is another part that wants the opposite to the point I don’t know what to do. I am in a continuous struggle but back in 1996 I had this strange thing happen to me I woke up saying Acts 20 -22 and Acts 22- 20. I had never read Acts that much because the church I had belonged to said it did not apply to us now. I also one night asked the Lord to please let me hear his voice because I was so lost and miserable and I was laying in bed and all of a sudden this booming voice filled the room “HEAR THE VOICE OF THE LORD” and I could not move and inside my head was filled with the most beautiful song birds singing and then it stopped. I wasn’t on drugs or drinking. It scared me because the pastor said that the devil can disguise himself to make people believe a lie.

So from that time on I have a hope in Jesus but I don’t know where I belong in Jesus. Every church I go to I want it to be the one, but I never feel a part of it – like I’m always on the outside. I cannot express myself very good and I have a hard time concentrating, but your audios and videos seem to speak to me, but I just cannot get hold of it. I’m not crazy but it just seems like I cannot grasp the Lord and how to be. I believed in the Lord in 1982 and things in my life have gone down hill ever since –  divorce, my son was murdered, my ex-wife passed away, and depression, too. I want to LOVE JESUS, but my heart feels so dead. What has kept me going, is hope in Jesus that one day he may create in me a clean heart and renew a right spirit in me. Thank you and God Bless!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Subject: Re: I want to believe help thou my unbelief.

Dear Brother ______,

I do want to say just a few short things to you about what you wrote to me. Primarily what you said at the end: “What has kept me going is hope in Jesus that one day he my create in me a clean heart and renew a right spirit in me.”

My brother, your day of liberation has come! It came the day Christ came to dwell in your heart, but in God’s good purposes the glory is hidden from us for a time, largely for the sake of the renewal of our minds,” which before had been turned toward appearances and self-glory, but now in Christ, having been proved by “manifold temptations,” it is coming out now in you in the pure gold of the Spirit.

Wherein ye greatly rejoice, though now for a season, if need be, ye are in heaviness through manifold temptations: That the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ: Whom having not seen, ye love; in whom, though now ye see him not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory: Receiving the end of your faith, even the salvation of your souls.” (1 Pet 1:6-9).

I understand that it has been hard. You have truly had tragedy. I am sure you have questioned God, questioned yourself, question everything you have believed. As the psalmist (42) said,

As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God. My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God? My tears have been my meat day and night, while they continually say unto me, Where is thy God?”

The deepest down most fundamental truth about you, brother ____, and it is the same with all who are in Christ, is that the moment you were born again, He created a clean heart and renewed a right spirit in you! How can I say this? Because at that moment HE became your heart, your innermost self place, where you and Christ have been joined as one person. This is simply a fact. Your grasping it, or understanding it, or even your faith for it or lack of faith for it, does not nullify the absolute fact that you, from the moment you were born again, have been the “house” of the Lord, (Heb 3:6), “one spirit” with Him, (1 Cor 6:17), a walking Treasure hidden in an earthen vessel (2 Cor 4:7), a life-giving branch on the Vine which is Jesus Christ (John 15:5). In you, specifically YOU, because in Christ you ARE a “new creature, old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” (2 Cor 5:17).

ARE BECOME NEW! Present tense! This means that this is true in you right now as you are reading what I have written.

You are clean (John 15:3), you come behind in no good thing because your only “goodness” is the Lord (Mk 10:18), you are washed in the blood of Jesus Christ so you have no stain of sin on you (Rev 7:14), the sin spirit left you in His death (John 1:29) and the Holy Spirit fell onto the human race when He rose by the power of the Father and went to sit at the Father’s right hand (Acts 2:16-21), and, Galatians 2:20 is just as true for you as it is for me.

You said you believe it but cannot grasp it or hold onto it – the revelation. But to “grasp it” or “get it” or “hold onto it” is not your job. Let’s get this clear, you DON’T “get” this by the apprehension of the mind, and also, this “it” is not a teaching or doctrine or philosophy, but a PERSON! We take by faith, (simple agreement by the will and expressing that concretely in a “word”), that HE is all those things in us, and that this is very fact now. I think you believe that.

And that is simply where you continue to stand, in your confession of faith and thanksgiving to the Father. That is where faith starts, and sometimes has to stay a long time, in the seeming “darkness” when to all outer indicators, we are somewhat in a pickle.

Abraham’s faith “ate” the Promises and “believed,” against all appearances to the contrary. He even received his new name from the Lord, “Abraham,” “father of many nations,” when at the time he had only one son who was not the true heir, since he was the son of the his wife’s bondwoman (slave). But Abram did as the Lord commanded, and in his old age with nearly 100 years spent and still the true Promised Heir had not come, he believed the Lord’s promise and accepted the name, “father of many nations.”

The promises and Word of God in you, are this very moment in you, “to will and do of His good pleasure.” (Phil 2:13). Dare to believe that! It is not a mental exercise of trying to “make” your intellect take all this in, grasp it, analyze it, etc. It is simply accepting as fact a truth we cannot see with our natural eyes, but which the Spirit has made plain to us within our spirits.

People ask, “How can I accept as fact a truth I cannot see, and how could that be ‘faith’?” It is simple, we do it every day! Let’s say we have booked a guided fishing trip into a wilderness area where we have never been. The fee covers not only the boat and equipment, but also the guide who will use his knowledge and experience to get us to the fishing places and back again. We may have never met him before, and know very little about him. But because he works for the company that offers the trips and is recommended by them, unless there is some clear reason not to, we relax and by an act of will, (saying inside ourselves “I will do that”), we then express by word or signature on the contract, that we will accept this person as our guide and put our trust in him for the trip. Simple as that.

And that is all we are talking about when we say, “Take it by faith.” Only in this case we are speaking of THE GUIDE, and we can relax and put our complete trust in Him to get us to our destination, in the simplicity of, “Yes, Lord, you have come into me to be one person with me, so it is no longer I, but You living in me, and being the Life, Love, Righteousness, Compassion, Wisdom and Power of God in my innermost self.”

Let me emphasize again, you already have the “clean heart” you desire, and a right spirit is renewed in you because THE RIGHT SPIRIT has entered you and dwells in oneness with you in all you do. This is because HE is your inner driver, inner motivator, inner instigator, who sometimes takes you to high places and glorious vistas, and then sometimes for His purposes (to save much people alive – Gen 50:20), he walks you in “the valley of the shadow of death.” At first and for many years sometimes, we panic every time we “go down” in God’s purposes through that valley, but as we become accustomed to Who we really are and the “ways” of the Lord as the Spirit teaches them to us, we find Christ more than adequate in the dark valley and more than adequate in the glorious vistas – because it is the same Christ, same Father, Son, Holy Spirit in whatever state we find ourselves in.

Now you are complete in him, this very moment! (Col 2:10). And He eternally sees in you the Image of the Only Begotten Son, and in that regard, He eternally says of you, “Behold my son, in whom I am well pleased.”

The fullness of Life is already within you. Jesus said, “He who believes on Me, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water.” That is all it is. Believe on Him. Believe Him. All the things He has said about you and promised you HE WILL BRING TO PASS, and your one “job” and no other, is to simply “believe on Him.” (John 6:29),

How? By earnest emotion? By mental straining to come to a place of “believing” such a thing. Of course not! This is not “mental” believing. This is “Spirit” believing, because it is the Spirit Who is the “believer” in you. “No man can say Jesus is Lord but by the Holy Ghost.” (1 Cor 12:3). Haven’t you said Jesus is your Lord? But Who really said it? You said it, but the Spirit said it. That is how intimate (one) you are. Union at the very point of your beginning in Christ, the Holy Spirit by your mouth confessing Jesus as Savior!

So for now, I’ll just conclude in telling you that you already ARE the person God created you to be, and you have permission and perhaps even an “instruction” from the Lord to believe Him and these things He has told you in these promises I have mentioned above.

We believe, against appearances in your life that would seem to contradict your believing, that what God has promised you, He has fulfilled, and that you are now, as you are, “Christ in you,” walking about in the body expressing Christ all day long by simply being yourself, which is Christ. He has not just come to dwell as if “separately” in your physical body or emotional/intellectual soul part of you, but to be “one” with the “all” of you. He is most “one” with you in your own self-identity. “I and my Father are one.” “When you see me you see the Father.” The “same oneness” Jesus had with the Father is the “same oneness” we now have with the Father, Son and Spirit. (John 17:11; 20-23).

Just say it’s so – in you! That is how you express your faith. Just say it! And let the Spirit do the rest. I haven’t seen Him fail yet.

You have a clean heart because He became your heart through the Cross and Resurrection.

But you also mentioned unbelief so I want to share a few words about that.

It is much easier to explain faith than it is unbelief. The reason is simply that unbelief is a “nothing” and does not really exist. Unbelief is not something in itself that people “get” or “acquire,” but simply misdirected faith. Like fear is negative faith. Instead of believing the Living God, we are beset by fears which we take as truth. We are believing in the negative as a power in itself, when in actuality there is no power in any negative. That’s why it is called “negative,” because it is devoid of power.

That’s why in electricity there are two poles, positive and negative. Positive has the outgoing energy, and the negative side is simply the receiving mechanism. It receives all of its power from the Positive. If we were to affix our faith on the negative side, the “not” side, that “not-ness” becomes our truth, our reality. So the things we believed we were justified to fear, start to become “our” truths. To affix that same faith to the Positive, Christ in us, rather than the negative, swallows up the negative into it, and uses the tension in that transition to release the power of God.

Bless you, brother!

Until later,

fred

 

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..Subject: Re: I want to believe help thou my unbelief.

Dear Brother Fred,

Thank you so much for your reply and words of liberation. The Lord has carried me to this place and I can finally rest in him because he is my All In All. He led me to you for a witness of what I have longed for in my heart and its been him all along. I have a clean heart and a right spirit because it is his spirit living in me. I’m sorry Bro. Fred but cannot hardly write because I am crying for Joy. Thank you so much. I have printed your email where I can carry it with me and read to let it fully sink in.

 

Therefore said he unto them, The harvest truly is great, but the labourers are few: pray ye therefore the Lord of the harvest, that he would send forth labourers into his harvest.

 

4 thoughts on “Create In Me A Clean Heart

  1. Thank you Brother Fred, God blessed me through this article that I am a clean person. all in not my goodness but His Praise God.

Thank you for your comment.

