God Hath Made Us

God Hath Made Us

by Fred Pruitt

(A Personal word — Edited excerpt from a past dialogue.)

“God hath made us” is the key to see here, even as Jesus’ promise to the disciples was, “I WILL MAKE YOU fishers of men.” The emphasis is on I WILL MAKE YOU! Because we can’t make ourselves.

Understand our usage of “make you,” because it occurs to me there are two different meanings in English. Oddly, from the first moment I read those words in scripture, the normal way we use that phrase in English, didn’t occur to me. In human society, when someones says “I will make you,” it often means, “I will force you.” So I wanted to clear that up, lest anyone think that is what Jesus was meaning. Jesus’ meaning was as the Father’s meaning:

A Psalm of praise

1 Make a joyful noise unto the LORD, all ye lands.

Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing.

3 Know ye that the LORD he is God: it is he that hath made us, and not we ourselves; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.

4 Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name.

5 For the LORD is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations.”

And of course a ministry “not of the letter” isn’t a behavioral thing, but a realization of where the Life is and what causes it. The “letter” merely points to it; the Spirit enacts it in us in a living reality, that we might walk around in the earth, doing our daily mundane affairs, getting gas for the lawnmower of whatever, and we find God in His fulness in every moment, and give thanks and praise for the One by whom all things consist and by whom everything, the mundane as well as the glorious, are upheld in every current moment. (Col 1:17; Heb 1:3).

And in my life in what God has called me to do, I have realized, like Paul, my own nothingness and total inability to perform the task he’s called me to. I am burdened with raising the consciousness of the people of God into Christ who is the head of all of us, and have only the words I’ve been given from the Spirit as my tools and method. I bemoaned this with God for some time, feeling quite an impotent person if all I could give a person was words. “What good are words if you want a cheeseburger?” I asked.

Like many, in years past I thought I would really cut the mustard and help an awful lot of people if I could put my hands on some folks and have them rise from wheelchairs and such. But God has continued for the most part to give me only words to give out, despite my thoughts otherwise. Not that I miss living in the miraculous and nor touched by it every day, for I am — I experience God’s quickenings in my body and soul as God gives me each new day and every landscape is filled with a hidden glow that is always there to those with eyes to see. And there are miracles of the traditional sort along the way, too.

But back to my bemoaning my “words only” situation. Though of course I had read this next scripture for years and years, one day the Lord spoke it personally to me: “It is the Spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are Spirit, and they are Life.” (John 6:63). A very familiar verse to many.

Another “final word” from the Spirit! What I saw, for me, and I repeat, for me, not necessarily for anyone else, was a great joy to me, because from that point on I haven’t questioned a moment the validity of this call He has given me. If His words, which He speaks unto us, ARE spirit, and ARE life, (and I am one who can testify to the truth of that), then the words He speaks by you and me are also the same, and are sufficient in themselves, because it is His word that has gone forth by us. This is the truth whether or not it has seemed powerful or dynamic or deep or even moving according to any fleshly measurements (senses). We trust Him to accomplish His will which He manifests into the world by means of you and me as He wills. We do not “lean unto our own understanding,” in saying how God should or ought to manifest Himself in our lives or in the lives of our brethren, but trust Him implicitly in all things to be working in us according to his pleasure and will, as he has said and we have said that we believe.

But this bit started out about power, so let me finish the thought. There is no human way I can communicate to anyone whatsoever the revelations of God. What I do – talk and write – is a complete waste of time and money unless the Word goes out by the Spirit, and is likewise received in and by the Spirit.

I have learned to the uttermost it isn’t by my verbal craft or quick wit that the things of God are enacted. So right there I’m stumped, stopped dead in my tracks. I don’t know how to do that. I don’t know how to “make” it happen that when I speak the Spirit moves in the hearts of people and people are quickened by the Spirit in them to grow in consciousness and understanding in the Lord. I don’t know how to make the words right; I don’t know the right tone of voice to have, right inflection, right way to look at the people I talk to, or who to make eye contact with. Likewise, I have no access to anybody’s inner person to open their ears and make them hear. I can tell you there has been many a time I have wished I could open up a person’s skull and pour Truth in, but the Word by the Spirit must do it, or we don’t want it.

But, when the Spirit opened my understanding in a new way to “My words are … Spirit and life,” it became clear as a bell to me that the “power” of God is carried in His words in and as me as well as all God’s people. The words we speak and write in the Lord are the very power of God and have no limit as to their working. So, something I don’t do, wouldn’t have the foggiest notion how to do, but that happens anyway in a way we can’t understand, and folks here and there wake up and hear the Word. And again we rejoice!

7 Lift up your heads, O ye gates; and be ye lift up, ye everlasting doors; and the King of glory shall come in.

8 Who is this King of glory? The LORD strong and mighty, the LORD mighty in battle.

9 Lift up your heads, O ye gates; even lift them up, ye everlasting doors; and the King of glory shall come in.

10 Who is this King of glory? The LORD of hosts, he is the King of glory. Selah.

2 thoughts on “God Hath Made Us

Thank you for your comment.

