Talking About Galatians 220_P3

Gal 2:20 Video Transcript by Fred Pruitt – Part 3

(This is part three of a transcript of a video I did in my home in Pensacola, Florida, August 24, 2009. I have left it mostly intact, but have edited a touch.)

Ok, back to Galatians 2:20, “I am crucified with Christ.” Ok, but now we’ve risen. Well, Romans 6 says that, too. “The body of sin” – that’s that false consciousness of self – “has been destroyed,” and then he says in verse 8, “Now if we be dead with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with Him.” So what has happened is that the same Spirit that raised Jesus Christ from the dead, has entered into us and raised us from the dead.

Now this is another very interesting thing. The whole church is all about, and rightly so, the resurrection of Jesus Christ, and believing in the resurrection of Jesus Christ. But I find so few understand the purpose of that. Jesus didn’t rise just so we could say, “O, Jesus rose,” and all have a big Sunday morning service and talk about Jesus rising.

Jesus rose that we might rise! Jesus rose to newness of life by the power of the Spirit of the Father, that that same life might enter into us, through His death and resurrection, and raise US to newness of Life!

That was His purpose – let’s receive it! Let’s not always just be thinking about Jesus of Nazareth 2,000 years ago, and be as the lady I heard on TV one time say, “Oh, I wish it was Bible days! I wish I lived in Bible days.” I wanted to reach in that TV and say, “Lady, you ARE living in Bible days! The God of the Bible lives in you right now!” Bible days are always, because the God of the Bible is the God of the Living, the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, and He’s alive today, right now, in you and in me. And He is JUST as alive, and JUST as mighty and JUST as real as He was to those children of Israel in the desert, or as He was to those people on the mountain when Jesus preached His sermons. It’s the same God, today, yesterday, and forever!

And that’s what we’ve got to understand – Jesus died and rose again to accomplish this very thing in us, what the effect of Galatians 2:20 is. He says, “I am crucified with Christ, nevertheless, I live.” but what’s happened in that “raising?” Something new has occurred in that raising. When he says, “nevertheless I live,” then he immediately corrects himself and says, “Yet not I, but Christ lives in me.”

Now, what he is saying is, I’m not living as a separate entity anymore. What’s happened now, is that this new life has come alive in me, the Life of Christ. And Christ …. it’s not … please understand what I’m saying, I’m not separating Jesus and Christ, because they never can be separated, but it’s not really “Jesus” living in me, because He has come to live in me, in my life! So that, the world sees Fred, or the world sees Bob, or the world sees Jill or Julie. It is “Jesus” reproduced, but He’s reproduced AS those human beings. So that each and every son of God is individual and distinct in themselves, and yet all of the same Spirit, all of the same Person, living and manifesting in each of them, all different, all having different points of view, different likes and dislikes, seeing different facets of the Truth, different functions – one a hand, one a foot, one an eye, one a mouth …

All of these things make up the whole body, and each is individually Christ manifesting, and the whole is Christ manifesting. So that it’s both corporate and individual. People get into arguments over, “Well, you can’t really talk about an individual being just Christ because it’s the whole body, and visa versa.”

But, it’s both! You know, I walk around, and it’s Christ walking around in me, and when I speak He’s speaking, and when I walk He’s walking. But when the Body functions together it’s ALL of us functioning together, and it’s all HE! You can’t separate it. You can’t say one is not the other. (I’m not sure if that phrase is right, but I hope you get my point.)

Christ lives in me, yet not I, but Christ lives in me. What’s happened is, that union reality that was put into Adam and Eve that they were unconscious of, now becomes conscious in us! Because that is what it’s all about.

As I said earlier, God wants sons who are conscious of who they are, conscious of why they are, conscious of what they do and where they are going. So He wants us to understand. He wants to bring us to fullness of understanding. We’re not going to get it all in this life, we’re not going to see it all. As my friend Norman Grubb used to say, “We just have the tip of our big toe in the vast ocean which is God.”

And so, that’s ok! Let’s just give what we’ve got! Let’s just work with what we’ve got, and believe me, it’s plenty! Because we’re living and moving and having our breath and our life and our heart and our soul in the Living God. And He is manifesting His Life by us, even whether we know it or not. But how wonderful it is to come to a consciousness of the fact that, “Hey, this is God functioning in this funny little thing called me.”

Well, “I live, yet not I, but Christ lives in me,” that’s the point. It’s not I – but it’s Christ – but it’s a union. It’s He and I – it says in 1 Corinthians 6:17, Paul says, “He that is joined to the Lord is one spirit with Him.” Now, if you go and read that passage, you’ll see that it’s actually – the context of the passage is Paul talking about people joining themselves to harlots, and through their sexual union, they become one flesh with the harlot. And then he says that, “he that is joined to the Lord is one spirit” – he’s making a point. One flesh is one flesh, and in the same way you’re one flesh, you’re one spirit with God.

Also in Ephesians chapter 5, he talks about the man and a woman – man and woman leave their families and become united in marriage and they become one flesh. He says this is a great mystery, “but I speak concerning Christ and the church.”

We are called “the Body of Christ” – that is very literal! That is not just figurative. You are the actual physical body of Christ walking around in the earth. We are that collectively, and we are that individually.

The union has been restored through the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. Because He took the old god – we were filled with an old god – we were all vessels of wrath – we were all the children of wrath – we were all filled with the “prince of the power of the air” and we did his lusts. That was what we did in our former lives. We didn’t know it, we were unconscious of it, because he hides himself. The world thinks its silly, to believe in the devil, and so do a lot of Christians. But, that’s nevertheless the truth.

But He kicked him out. Jesus did, when He came into us. When He died and resurrected. When He died, the devil left, and when He resurrected, the Spirit of the Father came into Him and raised Him up, and then the same thing happens in us. The Spirit of Christ, the Spirit of the Father, the Holy Spirit – you can’t separate God from God, where One is, the Other is, and so the whole Trinity comes to live in us. In their various functions.

We are able to, within us, hear the mind of Christ, which is the mind of the Father. We’re able to, within us, to know the depths, and breadth, and height of God, and to know His love. Through the Holy Spirit it flows out of us. Jesus said, “He who believes, out of his belly, his innermost being, shall flow rivers of living water.” Just believe!

He didn’t say go to school long enough, study enough, memorize enough scripture, learn enough doctrines, hear enough sermons, do enough good deeds … He says, “Believe! And out of your belly shall flow rivers of living water!” It’s not your job to make that happen. God makes it happen. You just believe, and He makes it happen. And believing is as simple as, “Ok, Lord, I’ll take that.”

One of my favorite examples of the simplicity of faith, is the “I do,” in a marriage ceremony. When two people stand before a minister, and he leads them in vows, and when they say, “I do,” and when the minister pronounces them man and wife, then they’re married. Now, they may have none of the evidence of marriage. They may have none of the accoutrements, and they don’t have a life [yet] that exhibits marriage, but they’re married! Just the “word,” makes them married.

And the “word,” just the word of agreement, causes the inflow of God into you, and the outflow of God out of you. Just by a word of agreement. My favorite scripture that illustrates this, is when the angel Gabriel came to Mary to announce that she was going to be the mother of the Lord. And, first she says – her mind clicks in, her natural mind – “How can this be, since I’ve never been with a man?” And Gabriel says the Holy Spirit will overshadow you, and that which is born of you will be the Savior. So Mary’s response to that is, “Be it unto me according to your word.” So she just took it – she just accepted it.

Alright, here it is, folks. This thing that Mary said to the angel Gabriel, is all we say, too. We just say, when we realize that, “Oh, it’s no longer I who is living, but it’s Christ who is living in me, it’s simply by a word of acceptance – “Oh! Oh! Well be it unto me according to this word. A word of acceptance – I’ll take that! That is true about “me.” It is by that word of acceptance that allows the work of God to begin to churn and to flow in us. All of these things come about by a word. “Let there be light,” and light IS!

Let there be …” It’s not an, “Ooooh, you gotta make it happen.” It’s, “Ok, Lord, I’ll take you at Your Word. Doesn’t look like it, it doesn’t feel like it – I don’t see how this life that I am living right now could be You living living in me.”

But Paul then goes on to say, that “the life that I now live, that I, I Paul, now live, in the flesh – walking around IN THE FLESH – everybody’s so scared of the flesh – “Oooo, the flesh is gonna get ya!” In other places He says that “my flesh” manifests Christ, that He might be manifest in my mortal flesh. And Jesus was God in the flesh!

So yeah, there’s “bad” flesh, and there’s an understanding about flesh, and it has to do with that independence – every time we believe we’re somebody and we gotta do it ourselves – whoa! – the flesh rises up! That’s what that “bad” definition of flesh is all about.

But, just the fact that we walk around – we are flesh and God lives in our flesh and He manifests in our flesh. In our mortal flesh, it says in the scripture, and mortal means dying! So even though these bodies are not the new bodies that we’re going to get one day in the Resurrection, and I believe in that – even though these bodies are mortal and decaying and perishing day by day as Paul says, nevertheless, Christ is manifest in them! And you can walk around believing that and being it, simply by your word of acceptance. It’s not something you make happen, it’s something that is happening, because God is the One Who is doing it. And we don’t judge it. We’re not made to judge God’s work, we’re simply made to believe it.

That’s the simplicity of this life, the ease of faith. The “ease of faith” is to say, “Ok, Lord, I’ll take you at Your Word. I am crucified with Christ, that old me that was, is gone. Nevertheless I live – I’ve risen again, but wait, it’s not just me, it’s YOU living in me now!”

And make that a total you, and make that a Total Christ living in you. Christ doesn’t come into just – you know, I used to hear these people teach about well, when Christ comes into you, it’s like there’s a bunch of rooms, and you have to “let Him” in each room, and He’s got to clean out this room, and clean out that one. Well, I don’t know of anybody who buys a house who doesn’t own the whole house. He may not get to every room right off, but it’s the new owner’s job to get to the rooms. And the old owner is gone – he doesn’t have anything to do with it. And the house is just the house and it just sits there, and has to wait to become what it becomes.

Now, Christ has moved into our WHOLE house! And the whole house is US! He made us, and we were stolen away from Him, and now He’s come back, and He’s taken up rightful possession of that which is His, which is US! And He’s taken up possession of the WHOLE of us!

Spirit, soul, body! Your psychology, and your emotions, and your reason, that’s your soulish part of you, He’s taken over that, bad psychology and all! Foibles and all! Crazy things and all! If you “blink a lot,” that’s Christ in you, taking that over! Accept it, praise Him for it! Praise Him for your whole life! Praise Him for everything! Praise Him for the things which you think are your liabilities or your weaknesses, and the things that you fall and stumble on. Praise Him for those things!

Say, “Lord, You’ve got that! There’s nothing I can do about it, anyway. You’ve got it – I’ve tried and tried and tried to quit being like that, but I give it to You and I’ll just say, ‘It’s Yours, Lord, do with it what you please!’ And I’ll say it’s the glory of God.”

BE BOLD! Let us come BOLDLY before the Throne of Grace! That’s what Galatians 2:20 is all about. He that believeth, out of his belly shall flow RIVERS!!!!

That’s Who we are, rivers of Living Water, be bold, claim it, believe it, walk it, YOU ARE IT! You are HE living in your form in this world.

Amen.

3 thoughts on “Talking About Galatians 220_P3

Thank you for your comment.

