Union Is In the AS

Union Is In The AS

by Fred Pruitt

(A revised and expanded reply to a recent email)

We have nearly the same understanding, thank you for sharing yours with me. There are some differences however, and if you’ll permit me, I have highlighted a few of the statements in yours above, which are some of our points of difference.

When we walk in obedience moment by moment, we do not sin or fulfill the lusts of the flesh (Galatians 5:16-17, 25).

We dwell in God’s rest by following the leading of His Spirit moment by moment throughout the day. We no longer live, but Christ lives in us, through us and instead of us (Galatians 2:20).

We are fully human, but Christ in us is fully divine.

I just can’t seem to grasp what it means for Christ to live AS us, INSTEAD of us.

First of all, my whole blog (currently 407 posted articles) could serve as an answer to your questions. I am on a road trip at the moment, and do not have a lot of time, but let’s start with your bottom statement, which, if you could see what I am speaking of there, the other questions might fall better into place.

For Christ to live AS us, INSTEAD of us.”

That’s easy. He created us, to be us. He created you to be the unique person you are, and me to be the unique “Fred.” He is not trying to “get us out of the way” so He can be God in our lives. He created us to be ourselves, not just ourselves as we think of ourselves, but as we were created from the foundation of the earth to be a living expression of the Father. The Father foresaw Himself re-expressed through the Son, being the Son in the Sons, so that He is bringing forth a vast family of sons who are really all the Same One Person, in multitudinous distinct form and expression.

That is the purpose of all creation, that God might demonstrate His love, not just “feeling sorry” for us because we can’t live His life, so therefore He has “grace” toward us and brings us in fellowship with Himself in acceptance and love. Those things are true, but they are only the beginning. From the beginning until now, He has spoken all things through, by and “AS” the Son. The Father doesn’t express Himself, “instead” of the Son. The SON, as the Son being the Son, IS the expression of the Father. Without the Son, God could have no expression of Himself in visibility. It is by means of The Son, that all things have come into existence and of which all things consist. He upholds “All things” by His Mighty Word of Power, which is the Son.

And now through that same Eternal Divine Son, that we also are brought into Him, so that as it is with Jesus and the Father, it is the same with us. “I and my Father are one.”

That is the center of it all. He and I are one. How has that come to be? Read John 17: 11, 20-23 and consider. Jesus prayed to the Father that we would dwell in the same oneness, so that WE can say, “I and my Father are one.” “He that is joined to the Lord is one spirit with him.” Created spirit-self, indwelt by Uncreated Spirit-self, expressing the Uncreated Spirit-self in manifest form. He and I are one.

I only have your words to go by, so if I misinterpret them, please bear with me. But by your words, as I am seeing what you have written me, you do not seem to know this ultimate reality, that you and He are one, as Jesus prayed you would be. You are close, but this is a mystery, hid from ages and generations, but being revealed in fullness in our time, that we are not just Christ’s “servants,” but that we are actually His life NOW being expressed in the world.

We are fully human, but Christ in us is fully divine.”

That is a confusing statement to me. God created us to be human beings, not angels. He created man for the earth, and for him to have dominion in the earth, as His human expression, as God manifesting as humanity. The original humanity our forefathers started with was lost, or at least it retreated. We were not of the same quality of body and soul before the Fall, as we are now. Our spirits darkened, through the usurping of our inner selves by the serpent, and our bodies and souls fell from the Edenic quality, which we really can only imagine, and corruption entered the earth through that Fall, which corrupted our bodies and souls with the darkness of the enemy, and the whole earth became a garden of corruption in good and evil.

Jesus Christ became a fully human man, just like all of us, even with the same body and soul from this world through Mary, though it was quickened by the Spirit, even as ours are, when we are in Him. He was a fully human man, as well as the “fullness of the Godhead bodily.” Both, not one or the other. There is nothing wrong with being fully human, because that is what God created us to be. That is why the Son came and took our creation upon Himself, to redeem Adam by His shed blood as a ransom for our deliverance, and to restore the heavens and the earth by His resurrection, likewise restoring Adam to the fulness of His original purpose in the Last Adam.

What original purpose? To be fruitful and multiply, to bring forth the wonders of God in creation, in further and further expansions of God’s outflowing life.

The others I quote above all contain what is to me, the main sore spot, and where I believe you may be able to find your answer.

The “sore spot” is this: you speak more than once about “moment by moment” abiding or being led or being obedient. You say, “We dwell in God’s rest by following the leading of His Spirit moment by moment throughout the day.”

I do not think you have seen that you died. Because if you did see that, you would know that there is no one around who can do the “moment by moment believing.”

Everything you write and express depends on you making sure you do the “moment by moment” believing, obeying, yielding, etc. This is a big stumbling block for some, because they cannot let go of the fact that they must “operate” this to “make it work.” I have been sharing this truth for over 30 years, and I have seen this over and over and over and over. In fact, for myself, it was “trying” to do everything you have stated on a moment by moment basis, that finally brought me to my “death” in Him.

As far as I can see, there is one more “I” still in there, hard-pressed to give up its position as controller, since the whole ballgame, as you seem to describe it, is still up to you. Moment by moment believing. Moment by moment obeying. Moment by moment determining which course is the Spirit’s leading and following it. Don’t be offended with me, please – but it seems to me you are still in the Old Testament.

Quickie lesson

– Old Testament = “God does His part, IF you do yours.” Preachers quote it from pulpits all the time and give out that prescription like cold medicine. But it does not work. Why – because the “law” (doing “our” part) was weak through the flesh. Only the flesh self can be the law self. The “law” is the flesh’s only hope of righteousness, but of course it would be a false righteousness, if we could attain to it.

– New Testament = “God does all.” “The Son does nothing of Himself. The Father that dwells in me, He does the works.” We receive by faith and walk in His Life, as branches on His vine, temples filled with His glory, vessels containing a Divine Treasure.

That is exactly the life I was living when I fell on my face into a wingback chair and told God I could do none of that anymore, that I quit. “If it is going to get done, You’ll have to do it,” I told the Lord, “because I quit, I can’t do it anymore.”

I could not above all, trust “myself” in right believing, right understanding of my leading, right obeying! There was nothing in me that could do it. I knew it was there – the Divine life – and I knew I did not seem to be living it – but I could not muster it up.

The “first” thing above all, is to know that we are one person with Him. We live a “union” life, two becoming one, and we live that life in a “unity,” of just being one person, not two. I am not divided from myself, nor from Christ. He and I are one. IT is not by my doing, but by His. I only receive its truth, and in that reception, the Spirit walks it out in us.

The “AS” is important because the “AS” means union. Christ speaking “through” me makes me something less than I am. People have accused what I am talking about as making automatons out of us, less than persons, having no will, etc. It only goes to demonstrate that they do not yet understand the truth, that in a final total realization of “being dead” in Christ, which is in a very real sense “forsaking all we have,” (since at bottom, our greatest “possession” is ourselves), we actually do not become automatons, but real persons!

For ye are dead, and your life is hid with Christ in God. When Christ, who is our life, shall appear, then shall ye also appear with him in glory.” (Col 3:3,4)

And living only so God could manifest “through” us, would make us secondary, more like a tree, a cow or a mountain, all of which glorify God in their creation, but not in a volitional, creaturely way, nor do they have a say in the matter. Whereas God has given to Man through Jesus Christ, the exalted position of total Sonship! Would these Sons not be real persons, the opposite of automatons, even though everyone of them could be heard to say, “The Son can do nothing of Himself, but whatsoever He sees the Father do, the same does the Son likewise”?

Like I said above, after a few extremely earnest years, finally “moment by moment” believing, abiding, obeying, never “certain” about any of it (was I doing enough? or was I effective enough, or was I sincere enough? was I loving enough?) – all that finally served to kill me dead (or brought me to a place where I saw it for myself, and not just as a “concept” to believe in). I saw no end to the struggle and finally came to that final Waterloo mentioned above. It was a complete and total giving up, sort of a once-for-all kind of thing.

Not that I am not reminded from time to time in current situations, but being “sealed” or coming to “rest” is not meant to be something needful of renewal every moment or hour or even every day. Maybe in the beginning it seems that way. But once we have come to a “place” of faith, it becomes ours all the time. It is exactly like being married. I don’t wake up every morning and have to go over being married to my wife again. I don’t have to think about it all. Years ago, 41 to be exact, we said “words of faith” (marriage vows), by our mutual “word” sealing the reality that we are married. I never have to do that again. It is just simply the fact of my existence, that I am married to my Janis. I can live it as my truth because IT IS my truth. It is the same way in Christ. It is simply a fact of my “marriage” in Him, that “I am crucified with Christ, nevertheless I live, yet not I, but Christ lives in me, and the life I now live I live by the faith OF the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.”

We walk in rest being ourselves and God is pleased to manifest Himself in these “selves” that you and I are. After all, that is why we were created, the only way we “work.” In other words, I CANNOT function as an independent, as a separate person, since I was never created to “work” that way. The only way humanity “works,” since it was created to manifest and give expression to the Living God Who is our maker. It was He Who created it and found it to be “very good.” So there is nothing wrong of itself with the humanity. And through the Cross, once the false usurping snake (SIN) is removed in Christ, we become the righteousness of God!

I quit trying to do God’s works, and what happened after, for the past 30+ years, has been the development and outflowing of the Spirit that has come up of itself, and every day it’s “The Son can do nothing of Himself – the Father that dwells in me, He does the works.”

Like I said above, my whole blog could address your questions, but I will recommend a couple if you are still interested in further pursuing this with me.

Why We Say As Us https://thesingleeye.wordpress.com/2010/08/20/why-we-say-as-us/

The Real Purpose of Law vs Grace https://thesingleeye.wordpress.com/2010/07/25/the-real-purpose-of-law-vs-grace/

There are so many more, I can’t pick.

One more, my book, “The Axe Laid to the Root.” It is a small, 42 page book, but it the most concise thing I’ve written on all this.

https://thesingleeye.wordpress.com/the-axe-laid-to-the-root/

Ok, I’ll quit for now. You had other questions that I didn’t get to, but all I have time for now. If you’d like, let me know how it goes with you with these things. Again, thank you for writing, and I hope I have said something helpful for you.

Love in Jesus,

fred

9 thoughts on “Union Is In the AS

  1. For me it was trying to abide. Jn.15:5.A beautiful analogy with a threatening retribution to the loser who strays.Having been a believer for 10 years and a member of a ministry I simply wanted to walk in the light. I was ‘doing’ everything right until God magnified my thought life.I kept remembering commands to obey and old sermons to apply without success.And my daily quiet time became very quiet because of guilt.Of course the word abide means to ‘remain’ and praise His name He showed me that I was remaining,abiding in union,as His son,by His faithfulness.The vine holds the branch,grafted into oneness,and He was holding me.The 9 fruit of the Spirit are just that,the fruit OF the Spirit.On tap and ready for service to a frightened,lonely world.God sees these needs and gives Himself by us and as us:vine AS branch,AS fruit,AS life.An unbroken,perpetual,measureless supply fulfilling the promise of abundant life. Jn.10:10,and 1 Jn 5:11-15.No longer a grape struggling to hold on,straining to mature and be sweet for a moments refreshing to a passerby.Now a son in whom Christ dwells in my stead,on the way,being truth,sharing life,no longer pumping the rusty handle for a few drops but rather experiencing firsthand the rivers of living water of our incomparable Savior.

Thank you for your comment.

