Regarding the Choice

Regarding “the Choice”

by Fred Pruitt

To listen to an audio of this article, click here: Audioscribe

This came about through a “Daily Email,” recently sent out by our www.christasus.com site. It happened to be a blurb from something I wrote eight or nine years ago. Because of that a brother responded, and this is that little exchange which I think might be beneficial to others who are having these same struggles.

First – the Daily Email.

The “Choice”

by Fred Pruitt

We are always faced with a “choice” of what we will see …. (The “choice” is simply in our receptivity) …. that choice is this — either we see UNITY, only GOD, ALL in all, manifesting Himself everywhere in EVERYTHING, ALL ordered, upheld and moved by HIM — or we see chaos, disunity, separation, dissonance, disharmony ….

Either we see a great ETERNAL FIRE OF LOVE EMBLAZONING EVERYTHING IN ITS LIGHT AND POWER or we see a million houses on fire and we can’t get to them fast enough to deal with them before another million houses go up ….

There is no fear in love …. LOVE casts out ALL fear ….

Dare we believe this??? (There is always somebody somewhere that wants to point out that there’s plenty to fear out there — but dare we step out anyway and believe there’s NOTHING to fear???) ….

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Now, the brother’s concern ….

What a great word, Fred! (and friends at Christ as Us).

I desperately need to see, and to choose to believe this. Fear is so bad in my life.


……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Now, my reply —

Dear ______

Thanks for writing again. I’m always glad to hear from you and give any help I can in your spiritual life. I am glad you are not afraid to share with us the real things going on in you. It is much more refreshing and honest to hear the real deal, rather than the false front the we Christians have been trained to put forth, where we say we’re blessed and praising the Lord while within us we are truly miserable and know inside us we’re not speaking the truth, but just going along with the crowd saying what we are expected to say. That is much more the norm in many circles.

Now what I am saying when I bring up all that, is that you are, in your experience, much nearer to the truth than those others. Until that false security blanket of a false front becomes so uncomfortable to us that we can bear it no longer, it remains. But you have thrown it off, letting the full ravages of your life have their way, looking to God and God alone for your inner sustenance. That is where the Spirit has brought you this day.

I’ve gone back and looked at some other exchanges with you, with you and Linda Bunting and others, going back nearly a year, in which you expressed much the same as in this as your daily misery.

Let me just tell you we are all familiar with this misery. And because of that, because we know the fear you speak of that will not go away, no matter how many times we quote, “Perfect love casts out fear,” and have lived, in the Lord’s purposes, in long periods when there seemed to be no deliverance though we cried night and day to God for it, because of that we are moved to speak boldly, and tell you again, that you are in that perfect place, where God has brought you and no other. You’ve been brought by the Spirit to this place, not to break you, but to make you!

And the most wonderful thing, is that the Spirit has already given you the answer in what you have written below. Though you are perhaps unconscious of it, you have put your finger on the heart of the matter for you right in this moment.

The word I am referring to is this that you wrote: “and to choose to believe this”.

That’s it in a nutshell, it’s a word the Spirit spoke out of your mouth.

Let me just briefly go over what I am meaning. What you have yet to understand, is that you are perhaps looking into the wrong place for your deliverance from all this, into what you are hoping will be a Promised Land of your own imagination. You are waiting for “something to happen,” and when you see it happen, you’ll then know it’s true and then believe. I know the truth of that because I did exactly that for years.

But we know that is the opposite of how it works, isn’t it? The word is “believe, and then see,” not, “I need to see, and then to choose to believe this.”

We are given a certain amount, an enough-for-faith amount, of “sight” before we truly see. We see perhaps the “potential” of the truth, and “believe it” on that basis, as in seeing the truth of a scripture, dimly, that we have not experienced yet. That is how God moves us from glory to glory, level to level. We first see it, as it were, “from the other side,” but we have yet to cross that river where we make it ours. Each successive upward step in Christ, especially those involving major shifts in consciousness (spiritual knowledge, wisdom and understanding) have this element, or “process” in it.

How do we do that? First let’s remember what has happened to us. You know because it has happened to you. It’s where God, by various and unique-to-each means, disabuses us of the notion that we are a self-sufficient self. One may not cross the river as a self-sufficient self. Why? Because that self cannot see God, or ever be in His Presence.

Certainly that sounds rather grim and negative, but if you are there, it is the prelude to rejoicing. It is the travail before the child comes forth. The Spirit has brought you here, and when you see it (also His job), the Spirit takes you to the other side.

And it is just this simple. I came to know it in this simple way. In any “faith-venture,” there is always a tension between the word spoken or believed, and “seeing” some expected manifestation of it. Anyways, a while back I was in such a place, “believing” but, (as it seemed to me), not really “believing,” because I had yet to experience it, to “see” it in some palpable way. And I’m not talking about a word of faith for a new car, but a word of faith about who I am in Christ. However, the “palpable” I’m talking about is an “intangible,” so that is even more a dilemma. I KNOW what a car looks like – but I don’t really know what this life in Christ will look like, so I supply that out of my own understanding or preconceptions, having no other “model” to go by. That’s where we get into trouble. (And don’t despair or worry over “getting in trouble.” The Spirit started this trouble, perfect trouble, and He will bring it to fruition.)

Two significant words were spoken to me that brought this “settling” about in me. The first was Linda Bunting saying to me, one day, referring to some waffling I was doing, “think not that the double-minded man shall receive anything from the Lord.” (James 1: 6,7). That pierced me, because it hit home. But what to do about it?

The final “settling” came to me in a Word directly from the Spirit one day. There was still an element in me that was waiting to “see.” Some final reserve of held-onto-doubt, not in emotion or intellect (soul) – there will always be that – but in spirit. By that I mean a holding back in the will in my heart from full-on loss of myself, a holding back of the complete loss of my preconceptions, a holding back in fear of the loss of everything, including and especially my “personal need” to “see.”

All my words of faith about myself in Christ, and what subsequently I “claimed” was flowing out of “me” because of that, and “seeing” that in truth and inner assurance, which up to that point had seemed to be there one day and gone the next, culminated one day in this question to me from the Holy Spirit: “When are you going to believe I HAVE ALREADY DONE what you have asked for?”

In that moment I saw He was answering something which to that point had been unconscious in me, a wee-bit of “want to see it before I fully believe it.” Right then and there I saw the “double-mindedness,” and that holding back in me. He had touched “the sore spot.” There wasn’t even a hint of condemnation in this. It was just, for me, a moment of bright revelation, because I knew the only answer to give Him, was to say, “Yes, Lord, I believe you HAVE done this. It is done. What the Father promised, He HAS done!”

Nothing happened to human eyes. But the moment in the Spirit was everlasting. From then on I have walked in “it is done – I AM,” not regarding anything else except God and the Word He gave me. This has required sticking to that inner Word, in the face of every opposite that says it is not true, whether my own emotions, reasons, thoughts, imaginations, or outer circumstances scream that it isn’t true, that it has not happened, nevertheless, the Word of the Spirit is true in us and we stand there, on what God has told us, period.

And that, is how faith “works.” You receive the TRUTH (the Person of Christ through the Holy Spirit in you), and what you receive (take into you, apprehend, choose), takes you. You receive the Truth in Christ, and the Truth takes you, that is, you become, are, the embodiment of it. You are Christ, living as YOU!

And one last thing, another little thing that went on in me in the finalizing of all this. Knowing that this “faith” is required of us, you might say, it still seems like a “work,” doesn’t it? It actually is not a “work,” when properly understood as simple agreement with and receiving what is offered, but until we come on the other side, it (having and operating faith) seems like something we “have to do.” Not to worry! That’s when I said, at the final bottom of all this, “Lord, I can’t even do the faith thing. You’ll have to do that, too!” (“The Son can do NOTHING of Himself.”)

And I find Him faithful, and He truly does “do it.”

1 Thes 5:24 – “Faithful is he that calleth you, who also will do it.”

With all that going for you, how can you fail? You won’t, because He is the Overcomer in you! “And this is the victory that overcometh the world, even our faith.”1 Jn 5: 4b).

Psalm 113

Praise ye the LORD. Praise, O ye servants of the LORD, praise the name of the LORD.

Blessed be the name of the LORD from this time forth and for evermore.

From the rising of the sun unto the going down of the same the LORD’s name is to be praised.

The LORD is high above all nations, and his glory above the heavens.

Who is like unto the LORD our God, who dwelleth on high,

Who humbleth himself to behold the things that are in heaven, and in the earth!

He raiseth up the poor out of the dust, and lifteth the needy out of the dunghill; 8 That he may set him with princes, even with the princes of his people.

He maketh the barren woman to keep house, and to be a joyful mother of children. Praise ye the LORD.

It’s all in you already, just speak it out. Speak what? That all that God has shown you about Who He is in you is true, and that, in this present moment, it is no longer you who live, but Christ Who lives in you, that you ARE one with Him right now, and that your present life in your world is Christ manifesting Himself, in His own way, as you. Don’t worry about some “proof” or “’manifestation” of it. That’s the Lord’s business. I want to tell you that you can do this with the simplicity of saying, “I do,” in a wedding ceremony, a little moment that forever changes your life. And it is the same in the Spirit. Our first major “I do” to Jesus was at some point inviting Him into our lives. Our second major “I do” is committing to these amazing facts the Spirit has shown us (regarding the value of Jesus’ bodily death and resurrection), and the Word He has given us that because of that we are now one spirit with Him (1 Cor 6:17), and thus are no longer just ourselves, but “Christ” walking around in the world “as us.” It’s a BIG leap, one only the Spirit can accomplish, and which we trust that He ALREADY HAS done it!

Be not afraid, only believe.” (Mk 5:36)

Love always,

fred

2 thoughts on “Regarding the Choice

Thank you for your comment.

