Christ is the Seed

By Fred Pruitt

(I discovered this looking for something else today. I wrote it on June 23, 2002, but do not remember to whom I wrote it. I decided to leave it pretty much as it was, because it serves as something of an introduction to the new article I am working on now.)

I really just wanted to give you a little background on how this “Christ as the Seed” in every man popped out of me ….

I’m not presenting that as my doctrinal position, since I find myself rather rebellious these days against any sort of dogmatic system …. though a certain amount of dogma is necessary, I suppose, but I am rather reluctant towards it and probably fight against it when I can ….

anyway, in my past, years ago, I did go to Bible school, and I did learn things like techniques for scriptural exegesis, took a little Hebrew & Greek (though I remember close to zilch), and like most everybody else read the Scriptures looking for patterns and proofs and principles and outlines and such ….

there is nothing wrong with any of that, and those who do that are “anointed” to do it …. so what i say further is only how things are with me, and not meant in any way to say how they “should be” for others …. we each have the Spirit & His way is unique in all of us ….

but as the reality of the inwardness of God and He as “me” has become more & more settled in me, the Scriptures have taken on a more & more inward meaning that is intimately personal, and less & less a “line upon line, precept upon precept,” sort of an “over there,” here’s how it is” meaning …. i don’t know if i make myself clear, but that’s the best i can do in describing it ….

at times the realization that everything is “inner consciousness” has billowed over my mind so strongly that i’ve thought myself to have been almost swept away …. it has been hard to get a “concept” of “GOD” …. all my ideas and thoughts and descriptions and theories “about” God are swept away in the Mystery of His Person …. i no longer find myself able to “grasp Him” because I have found Him to be beyond my conceptual level …. i cannot “describe” Him ….

this has changed everything for me ….

looking at the gospels, Jesus is to me living from a spontaneous uprising of the Spirit in Him in each new situation …. he asked no one their doctrinal position, nor even demanded any sort of confession sin, but instead looked only for faith …. he came to heal the sick, not those who were well in their own minds, and to those who saw themselves as well in their own minds, His Love responded with the necessary words or actions in the moment …. some of those caught up in themselves he spoke to gently, and others filled him with anger …. there’s no pattern you can discern, though many have tried to describe and emulate the “principles” Jesus operated by …. but we know he operated by no “set of principles” nor “philosophy” but by the ever begetting Life of the Father within Him, Who is ever begetting the Son …. “Thou art my Son; this day have I begotten thee.” (Ps 2:7) …. meaning, to me, that the Life of the Son is continuously (this day) begotten of the Father, so that He ever appears in newness and propagation in sponteneity as ourselves in Him ….

in looking at the stories of the Old Testament, the stories of Abraham, Isaac, & Jacob, Moses, Joshua, Samson, Samuel, Saul, David, on down to the disciples in the gospels, i see God living & manifesting His Life in the lives of these ordinary human beings …. yes, they are moral lessons, yes they portray certain right principles of life, yes, there is much in them that indicates eschalatological systems, but more than that, to me, they are the stories of people living lives spontaneously as who they really were, regardless of the depths of their knowledge, because they are stories more of faith and love than of knowledge …. stories of living in God in the spontaneity of human living …. (and in a way i can’t describe, i see myself as each of them, each of them as myself, reflections of their lives in mine, and reflections of my life in theirs) ….

all of course, with God’s purpose behind each, because in the spontaneity of the Living Water flowing through their lives, the plan of God has unfolded more and more widely down through the centuries, so that finally all things on the earth take their central point from Calvary, whether backwards from Calvary or forward from it …. and as it is on earth, so it is in heaven, in that in the center of the Throne is an Eternal Lamb Slain …. and all heavenly things as well as earthly things take that as their central point from which all else emanates ….

for years, my writings reflected my “line upon line, precept upon precept” consciousness …. it actually caused a collapse in me, and i took a 12 year sabbatical, and wrote nothing whatsoever of these things, and even tried even to not think of them …. i tried to forget these things, for Ahab & Jezebel frightened me and i was overwhelmed and saw myself more than i saw God and i went & hid in a cave in the desert ….

storms & thunder came and ravens fed me and then one day i heard a still small voice ….

it said, “Get up, dust yourself off, I AM” ….

so now when I write “Christ is the seed in every man” i don’t mean it as a precept everyone should take now as truth to be put in some outline or treatise or course in theology ….

i MEAN Christ IS all in all, that “by Him all things consist,” that even if you don’t see Him or know Him or recognize Him He still IS the “fulness that fills all in all” and there is nowhere where He is not in His fulness …. that when Jesus told the woman at the well that “God is Spirit, and they that worship Him worship Him in Spirit and in Truth,” instead of siding with the Jews that the temple in Jerusalem was the place to worship, or the mountain in Samaria as the Samaritans said, but that God, being Spirit, can ONLY be known inwardly where we ourselves are spirit, that there is NO OTHER place where God can be “found,” and that whenever we have felt ourselves touched and drawn of God, it has welled up from the deepest depths within us — and to me there is a “place” within us of infinity which opens up into God and quite beyond “ourselves” and any “notion” we might have of God, for as the Scriptures say God does not dwell in a temple made with hands, so also does He not dwell within the limited notions we have of Him …. but He dwells within the Mystery of His own Selfhood, which we find to be at the depths of our very selves where in Him we are one spirit with Him …. and we only find this “place” in the new birth and the Cross ….

so therefore i mean “Christ is the seed in every man” to be discerned inwardly from the Spirit, because there is no “outer” God, apart from us, way up there, over there, up in heaven — all of that is IN us …. as well as the doorway to hell and the devil, who used to be our master ….

other than all that crazy stuff going on in my head, i’m actually a pretty regular guy who watches a lot of television and likes action-adventure movies but i also have been known to cry at chick-movies …. my wife is a folk-rock & roll singer/songwriter musician who has a band and they sing “secular” music (that she writes) in taverns and bars and wherever will pay at least a little bit …. and in that she lives in faith and knowledge in Jesus ….

well, this was gonna be short, but then i start out like that with most things ….

like i said, hope to meet you one of these days ….

all my love,

fred

One thought on “Christ is the Seed

Thank you for your comment.

