Dialogue on (Almost) Everything – Pt One

By Fred Pruitt

(This below is derived from excerpts of a several week email dialogue with another seeker in Christ. We really did not cover “everything,” but we did hit on most of the basic questions and issues that come up as we are beginning to realize that “it is no longer I that live, but Christ liveth in me.” The dialogue was not “systematic,” in that we covered each issue one at a time, but more conversational, as we would talk in a living room. I decided to leave it in that format, rather than try to pull out things categorically, but just leave it as the Spirit worked it through my brother and I. One issue did remain on the table through the whole dialogue, and that was the “we should be healing …” and wanting those “greater works” that Jesus spoke of, which is a common issue for many.)

Fred:

Dear _______,

I thank you for writing. What a truly wonderful reality we begin to wake to when we begin to see that we ourselves are God’s living expression in the earth, and that we don’t know this and experience “it” by our striving, straining and trying, but simply in faith-recognition of He WHO IS REAL, i.e. the Living God, indwelling us in a mystery of a union of selves which is too deep for words so that it can’t be fully explained but only be inwardly “known — that we are “mixed with God”, He being one person, one self, with us, and He overshadowing our mortal flesh which He uses as His house to express Himself in this world.

I appreciate you writing me with your questions. I’m only a brother like you, not even a pastor as you are, and in that regard I’ll tell you how it has come to me to see the things of God.

Inquirer:

You may say that your are ‘only a brother like you’, but surely you must recognize the gifts that God has given you and that He gave apostle, prophets, evangelists, pastors and teachers for the training of the body of Christ for works of ministry. So, in reality you are more than ‘only a brother’, and no doubt, I am only one among many others who have been blessed through your writings.

Fred:

Thanks for that. I am familiar with that. I started out my Christian experience in the early 70s in a church that had the “five-fold” ministries — apostles, prophets, etc. It was a charismatic pentecostal, church. I was all that back then. Even was named and “ordained” in the church as one of those five ministry gifts. But now I don’t know what I am. Just a guy in whom the Spirit of God lives and who has been called to give what I’ve been given. That’s all I can say.

Inquirer:

I believe the Word instructs us to heal the sick. What has been frustrating to me is our record of hit or miss results.

Fred:

I believe the Word instructs us to be led of the Spirit, and to obey God in faith. Healing is given to some, but not all. I think it a grievous burden to lay on people to tell everyone they must heal. I am not apologetic about the church not having or experiencing much healing because I trust God in His church to work all things after His own will, and in me as well, as He plainly says in Eph 1:11.  He has the “times” in His hand (Ps 31:15), and when HE determines that healings should be widespread, nothing will stop it.

Secondly, I do not think God is up in heaven wringing His hands wondering why we don’t get it and get out there and heal the sick. I believe that picture comes from the devil and is meant to condemn God’s people and get their minds off the True Riches onto the temporal through guilt and condemnation. It is a GIFT! We relax in the Giver, trusting Him to manifest in His own time and way His gifts according to His will. If we are called to healing, then it will be given us! We will know it, and will seek and receive from the Lord that which we need.

I am not called to a healing ministry. At least not as a ministry. I certainly pray, when led, for people as asked or for friends and family, but I know that is not my calling in the Lord as a ministry. I know this from the Spirit. When we are free in the Spirit then we realize that the New Testament is not a bunch of new laws to replace the old – “thou shalt heal,” “thou shalt go to church on Sunday, thou shalt …”

It is a new reality, in which Christ lives in us to will and do of His good pleasure. Everyone does something different, each of us assigned a particular task and calling, to be the particular brick that God has made us to be, in the building that God is building — each of us placed by the Spirit exactly where we need to be (in this current moment for which we give thanks and praise!) that we might all be a holy habitation of the Spirit.

This is a current reality in the Spirit, and over the years I have learned that what I see in the Spirit is absolutely the True Reality which is always behind though invisible to this temporal reality. We trust God, not only to provide the desire for what He calls us to do, but also the means and opportunity, as well as His gift or “anointing” to do it. Some preach, some write, some clean up the place.

The only thing that matters is each of us fulfilling our individual calling in the Lord, which we come to know inside ourselves through the Spirit. So you may be called to heal. Then trust God that since you have asked, He will manifest His gifts in you in His own time and way, and stand on the answer already given. Quit being in unbelief that God has not heard or answered your prayer because you do not see it in your sight. There is no jumping ahead on God’s timetable. Every moment God is revealing Himself; open your eyes and see and thank. (Gen 28:16).

But I would ask you also to consider what I’ve said — that “healing” is not a “law” we have to fulfill, but something the Lord does as He wills, and we don’t all do it. Therefore, we trust God and look only to Him, and trust He fulfills His own word by us, since we’ve learned to the uttermost we can’t fulfill anything. We are, as the prophet in Isaiah, finding we are those of unclean lips and have lost all. But then we are touched on the tongue with the hot coal from His altar, which has taken away our iniquity and purged our sin, and in that God-accomplished re-creation we are then sent forth to testify that which we have seen and heard, whether they hear or not. (Is 6:8).

End Part One

https://thesingleeye.wordpress.com

www.thesingleeye.com

2 thoughts on “Dialogue on (Almost) Everything – Pt One

  1. I liked these points in psrticular:
    “Some preach, some write, some clean up the place.” It made me smile!!!

    “When we are free in the Spirit then we realize that the New Testament is not a bunch of new laws to replace the old – “thou shalt heal,” “thou shalt go to church on Sunday, thou shalt …”” God has been making this more and more clear to me in my own life….

    “We are, as the prophet in Isaiah, finding we are those of unclean lips and have lost all. But then we are touched on the tongue with the hot coal from His altar, which has taken away our iniquity and purged our sin, and in that God-accomplished re-creation we are then sent forth to testify that which we have seen and heard, whether they hear or not. (Is 6:8).” There is freedom for me here. And I love the fact that I am a witness to what He has and is doing in my life and I can tell that story all day long with ease as it is what I have seen Him do for me. And it is as you say not my job to make anyone listen. That is so freeing to me.

    And all of this reminds me that my goal in all things is not service but worship. Worship in that my focus is Him and wherever He leads. I do not need to worry and fret over a calling to some particular service. If I am focusing on serving itself then I am not focusing on God and Him in me. Praying that God will continue to free me from my years of enslavement not to Himself but to service and that I can see the difference in my soul.

    Thanks for sharing Fred…

Thank you for your comment.

